Miami-Dade County vessel using a mooring buoy.  There are 65 mooring buoys located in Miami-Dade County.  23 are located in Biscayne National Park.

Broward County vessel approaches a mooring buoy.  There are 122 mooring buoys located in Broward County.  Visit the link to the right to view Broward County's website for information on how to properly use a mooring buoy.



Coral Reef Protection Act

In 2009, the Florida Legislature passed the Florida Coral Reef Protection Act or CRPA, recognizing the uniqueness and importance of our Florida reefs.  This act increases the protection given to reefs off the shores of Martin, Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe counties through fines for damaging these special places.  Fines for anchoring on or damaging the reef in any way begin at $150, but can up to $250,000, depending on the severity of the incident.  Use our maps on your smartphone to learn where the reefs are and use a mooring buoy whenever possible or be sure to anchor in the sand to avoid damaging the bottom.

Coral Reef Protection Act Brochure

Coral Reef Protection Act Fact Sheet

Coral Reef Protection Act Questions & Answers

Mooring Buoys

Nearly 300 mooring buoys are in the Southeast Florida Coral Reef Initiative region, with even more in Monroe County and Biscayne National Park.  These buoys provide a safe and convenient way to secure your boat when enjoying the reef – they are often located right next to popular dive sites!  To learn more about how to use them and where to find them, visit the links below:

Miami Dade and Broward Counties

Palm Beach and Martin Counties

Other South Florida Mooring Buoy Maps

Monroe County

Biscayne National Park


Interested in viewing the location of south Florida’s reefs while on the water?

Click the picture below for instructions on how to use the Coral Reef Locator map.

ESRI App Instructions English


ESRI App Instructions Spanish